Polly Woodside

Polly Woodside – Step Aboard!

What's On

Location Tickets and Times

School Excursions

Weddings, Parties and Venue Hire


View Larger Map

A Virtual Tour of the Ship and Gallery in 3 Dimensions

Follow the arrows and tour the Polly Woodside above and below decks including the award winning Polly Woodside Gallery. 3D Interactive photography courtesy of Barney Meyer.


Opening Hours

Our current opening hours are from 10am to 4pm, Saturday and Sunday.
Last entry is recommended at 3.15pm.


Saturday 5th December - Closed for a private function
Sunday 6th December - Pirate Day
Monday 7th December through to Friday 11th December - Closed
Saturday 12th December - Open 10am - 4pm
Sunday 13th December - Closed for a private function
Monday 14th December through to Friday 18th December - Closed
Saturday 19th December - Open 10am - 4pm
Sunday 20th December - Open 10am - 4pm
Monday 21st December - Open 10am - 4pm
Tuesday 22nd December - Open 10am - 4pm
Wednesday 23rd December - Closed for a private function
Thursday 24th December - Open 10am - 4pm
Christmas Day - Closed
Boxing Day - Closed
Sunday 27th December - Open 11am - 3pm
Monday 28th December - Closed
Tuesday 29th through to Thursday 31st - Open 10am - 4pm
Friday 1st January 2016 - Closed
Saturday 2nd January through to Monday 25th January - Open 10am - 4pm
Tuesday 26th January - Closed
Wednesday 27th January - Closed
Thursday 28th January - Closed
Friday 29th January - Closed
Back to normal trading hours as of Saturday 30th January 2016

Polly Woodside is only open 7 days a week during the Victorian school holidays with the exception of private functions or public holidays.

Please visit our What's On section for more details, or click to go to the Location, Tickets & Times page here.


Explore the real Polly Woodside with the Mate

Join one of our First Mates and sign up as a crew member for a complete tour of the ship where you have to do all the work - scrub the decks, haul the sail or push the capstan.

Find out all about the history of the ship and the period of sail in our gallery and learn all about the hardship and adventure of life at sea.


New Combo Pass - Old Melbourne Gaol & Polly Woodside

Visit Melbourne’s two most exciting heritage attractions - the Old Melbourne Gaol and the Polly Woodside for one low price with our National Trust 2 attraction pass. Hop on the free tram between both sites.

Entry into the Old Melbourne Gaol and the Polly Woodside for only $30 per adult.

More details about tickets and opening times.

Polly Woodside wins National Honour

The Polly Woodside recently won award for Best Permanent Exhibition (Level 3) at Museums Australia Museums & Galleries National Awards (MAGNAs) in Adelaide.

Read all about the Polly Woodside's recent development in an article in September 2012 Signals, quarterly journal of the Australian National Maritime Museum.

Pirates, pirates and more pirates!

Shiver me timbers! Why not join our pirate crew and have your party with us or come to our Pirate Sundays take place on the first Sunday of every month! To find more details of all of our events and activities check the What's On page.Pirate Sundays.

The perfect place for special event

Why not create your own special event aboard our ship. The Polly Woodside offers a unique venue for you to enjoy right in the heart of the city centre with great views of Melbourne. Find out more ..

The tall ship Polly Woodside will be transformed into a pop up rum bar from 6pm-9pm on Friday 27th Nov 15. Come dressed as a pirate and see all areas of the tall ship, our ships workshop, the interactive award winning museum whilst enjoying the views over the Yarra during sun set. The ticket price includes 2 drinks from a selection of rum based cocktails, wine and beer. There will also be intimate master classes in the museum’s theatrette to learn more from a rum expert for an additional $10 per person . There will be food trucks to purchase food from and additional drink tokens will be available for $8 each. Bring your business cards for a fantastic door prize of a night tickets to our next pop up bar for you and 3 of your friends valued at $160 .